Why I Broke Up With My Fifteen-Plus-Year Corporate Career

Creating a career you love without having an M.B.A. degree

Kristin Meekhof
Index

--

Visual Phases of Leaping To A New Career

According to a research study done earlier this year by PwC, 65 percent of employees in the United States are seeking new jobs. The mass exodus is being called “The Great Resignation” of 2021, and the movement is causing a pause among employers and employees alike.

Three years before this great movement, I found myself voluntarily resigning from a corporate job I held for over fifteen years. It was done over months of great deliberation and heartfelt angst (literally), but I knew both in my gut and head that it would cost me my mental health and physical well-being if I didn’t break away.

After months of receiving less than supportive comments from my co-workers, I decided to consult various professionals (i.e., accountant, medical doctor) and get serious about my options. I did what every non-accounting major should do, and that is schedule an appointment with an accountant.

With a lump in my throat and dozens of tax returns stuffed in my backpack, I schlepped my way into her office. And what I received I wasn’t expecting — good news. After working in a less than positive workplace, I was so used to hearing negative words; it was difficult to digest her conclusions. I could…

--

--

Kristin Meekhof
Index
Writer for

Kristin A. Meekhof author (A Widow’s Guide to Healing), a licensed social worker w/ more than 20 years of clinical experience. Resilience + Wellness Expert.