What It Was Like Being a New Hire in A Pandemic

A leap of faith into uncharted territory

Katlyn Gallo
Index

--

image from Unsplash

Despite not actively looking for a change of role, I ended up starting a new job during the pandemic after someone reached out to me about an opening at their company.

After about a month of introductions and interviews, and one interview I thought I completely bombed, I found myself answering a call from headquarters and being told, “the team would like to extend an offer”.

I’m not going to lie; I hung up the phone and started jumping up and down. I wasn’t particularly happy in my current role, but it was paying the bills, and I had told myself I’d stick around until I finished my Master’s degree (May 2022). I wasn’t prepared to receive a job offer while I was so comfortable in my current role, still in school, and living through a pandemic.

I had a decision to make.

At the time, I felt overworked and under-appreciated and disliked the company culture. Some days I could stay in my work-from-home bubble, but most days, when I had to join meetings, I found myself waking up dreading the day. Regardless of my plan to stick around for another year, I accepted the offer and gave my two-week notice — for the first time. Yes, this was the first time I had given my notice to a company, and it was so…

--

--

Katlyn Gallo
Index

Coffee lover, bookworm, and InfoSec enthusiast | Find me on Twitter & Instagram: @ktgblogstech