The Unspoken Reason Why Everyone is Quitting Their Job

You don’t need a traditional job anymore.

Kyle Chastain
Index

--

Photo: Raphael Rychetsky/Unsplash

We can’t take it anymore. We’re tired of business as usual. I know so many people who watched their parents work long hours and finally drift into divorce. I also know people who made tons of money and bought loads of crap at the expense of their own health and happiness. I’m among the many looking to redefine work for this new age.

If you’re reading this, you’re probably in of two categories. You either want to join the current Great Resignation and quit your job — even if you feel a little guilty about it. Or, you’re an employer looking for an edge in this challenging economy.

Either way, you’re being shaped by powerful cultural forces you don’t even recognize. But it’s not all your fault. We’re at a tipping point. The internet changed how we define and think about work.

I work in retail banking and was an “essential” worker. I’ve experienced the effects of the Great Resignation firsthand after a year of pandemic pandemonium. My office was without a manager for six months, and we’ve had another open position for almost a year. And I won’t lie to you, I’m ready to join the mass exodus for work more aligned with my values. The world is changing.

--

--

Kyle Chastain
Index
Writer for

On a mission to become a better writer and storyteller | Building my "Insight" newsletter to 10k+ | Create the life you want: https://chastain.substack.com/