Quitting Your Job Isn’t the Goal. Finding Meaningful Work Is

The motivation behind the great resignation

Jerine Nicole
Index

--

Photo: Valeria Boltneva/Pexels

It’s been three months since I’d quit my nursing job.

A year ago, I was dreaming of this life, one of waking up, working my own hours, and doing anything else I felt like.

I admit I didn’t want to quit my job. I was forced to due to certain circumstances. I felt extremely burnt out as an Emergency nurse caring for patients who didn’t care about themselves. So in the past couple of months, I’ve been contemplating why I quit my job. Was it because I hated the job? Or was it because I wanted to do something else? Or was it both?

Or maybe I was influenced by what I saw on social media. On every platform you go to, someone is telling us how they quit their job, and it’s been the best decision they’ve ever had in their lives. There’s a whole subreddit (/antiwork) on it.

But for me, it was different. I loved caring for my patients. And it made me think, maybe the goal of the great resignation or antiwork isn’t to quit your job.

Maybe it’s to find or create meaningful work for yourself.

Defining meaningful work

--

--

Jerine Nicole
Index
Writer for

Part-time nurse, part-time writer. I write stories about how I explore life to inspire others. Insights on intentional living: jerinenicole.substack.com