My Starting Salary as a Black Female Lawyer in NYC

You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take

Andrea Coleman
Index

--

Image: GettyImages

I can’t believe I’m about to tell the world my starting salary. Part of me thinks this is a terrible idea. But fortune favors the bold, right? I’m doing this because transparency around numbers would’ve helped me immensely when entering the job market. So, here goes.

I was the worst — the literal worst negotiator when I started my career. You know why? Because I never negotiated. It’s like that famous quote from Wayne Gretzky, “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” I never took a shot. I was so desperate and scared when I was looking for work that I didn’t dream of countering when I was made my offer. I just took it. I wasn’t connected to my value. I wasn’t aware of how business was done. I didn’t even do any research. Can you imagine?!

I vaguely remember a little voice in my head suggesting I should counter, and in an instant, the loud fear voice raged in, saying that I better not dare ask for more money. So I didn’t. And just like that, poof, I chose to be fear’s bitch.

The salary I was offered in 2007 for my first job as an Attorney was $50,976.00. In 2007, the median salary was $62,000, and the mean/average salary was ~$80,000. These figures are for the entire country. Not New York. Starting salaries for…

--

--

Andrea Coleman
Index
Writer for

Reiki Master, Lawyer & Comic with over 815K views: I love rules, writing & laughing. https://linktr.ee/AndreaColemanComedy