Mental Health Issues at Work Are Incredibly Embarrassing (I Hid Mine for Decades)

One day I told my boss and here’s what happened.

Tim Denning
Index
Published in
5 min readAug 2, 2021

--

Image supplied by author

This moment makes me extremely emotional. Most of my career was spent fighting an invisible battle in my head every single day. Things got so dark that I contemplated leaving the workforce forever and living with an elderly relative who survived on government benefits. Thinking about what could have happened if I kept going down that path scares me.

I shared this story on LinkedIn about battling mental illness at work. I didn’t expect hundreds of thousands of people to react to the post and tell their own stories. My inbox lit up. Two words featured in almost every message I got.

“Nobody knows.”

Here’s my story. It will help if you’ve ever faced mental illness at work.

Coming out of the Closet

Walt Disney ran our team. We were a group of misfits that the business had dumped into a team, hoping for a miracle. He moved from the sunny state of Tasmania to be our leader.

I liked Disney. He was a lot like the real Disney I idolized as a kid.

The guy had a weird way of running a business. He replaced many of our sales meetings with Ted…

--

--

Tim Denning
Index
Writer for

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb