Job Hoppers Should Be Worshipped

Forget about 5-year career blocks. Job hopping equals career growth

Tim Denning
Index
Published in
6 min readOct 21, 2021

--

Photo: Varla Scooter/Unsplash

Why are job hoppers not considered the high priests of the economy?

I have a naughty confession: I am a job hopper. As soon as I get a new job, I’m already on the hunt for the next one. A job is an experiment for me. I like to learn “da business,” horse around, meet some cool people, and get the F out of there. Life is too short to stay in one job. Shhh … don’t tell my potential futures bosses. Oopsie, too late.

I spent a stupid amount of time over the last few years doing mass recruitment at my last few jobs. You’re not supposed to speak this truth: job hoppers are an illegal species to hiring managers and recruiters. They shouldn’t be. Especially now, with so many deciding it’s the time to find something new.

Job hoppers should be worshipped. Here’s why.

They’re willing to apply for jobs they don’t qualify for

Most of us job hoppers are doing what my former boss calls “trying sh*t on.” Half the time we don’t qualify for the new job we’re trying to get. We just want to see if we can.

Here’s the thing: the internal applicant who has been groomed for the job often doesn’t qualify either…

--

--

Tim Denning
Index
Writer for

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb