I’m Done With Meetings from My Kitchen Table

Keep your bad vibes out of my cornflakes

J.R. Flaherty
Index

--

Ekaterina Bolovtsova / Pexels

After the third consecutive call, I started to lose it.

My calendar schedule had phone meetings back to back. I wanted it all done in one block: I can’t even pretend I like meetings anymore. It’s even worse when work chat is mixed in with bedroom chat. There is less privacy than ever in our one-bedroom flat.

Zoom calls have become as excruciating to me as hearing my voice recorded. Or I see myself on film. It’s a voice dysmorphia if there is such a thing. I’d much rather have a well-crafted email. Even better, a clear text.

I’ve never been good at them. Over the years, I’ve tried to change myself. So I either speak too loud or don’t speak enough. Or not low enough. I think about it so much I find my voice modulates in a funny way. Sometimes it feels ‘out there,’ and I don’t even recognize it.

The ‘problem’ with women in meetings

When I studied law, we role-played legal counseling. This is where I was introduced to “the problem” with women’s voices. Research at Harvard showed women’s voices are perceived differently from men’s voices in different contexts.

--

--