How to Get and Leave a 6-Figure Job in Your Early 20s

From Wall Street to ramen to CEO, here are my thoughts.

Rachel Greenberg
Index

--

Photo: MayoFi/Unsplash

For the past couple decades, society has glamorized the university experience and held four-year diplomas in quite high esteem. At least, that’s how it used to be. Then, somewhere along the way, four years was no longer enough. You needed a PhD, an MBA, an MSc, and pretty much the whole alphabet trailing your name to prepare you for the most introductory role in your chosen field. Soon enough we’re handing fancy degrees to thirtysomethings who’ve never worked a real job or earned a dime in their field of interest.

Let me be honest about my waltz into a highly coveted six-figure job in a prestigious industry at the age of 22: I planned it… but there’s more to it.

At the age of 18, I didn’t know what the S&P was or what M&A stood for (mergers and acquisitions). I probably didn’t know Goldman Sachs from Golden Corral (for those who share in my ignorance, one is an investment bank and the other a buffet chain). I certainly didn’t have a clue that four years later I would be among the chosen few, working at a Wall Street bank, pitching and facilitating $100M+ deals (as an analyst of course, so really spending 18 hours per day in Excel models and PowerPoint slides), making more than twice as much money as many of my…

--

--

Rachel Greenberg
Index
Writer for

Wall Street Investment Banker → Entrepreneur & Startup Consultant. “Top 10 Entrepreneurs of 2020” Yahoo Finance. CEO of Beta Bowl. Mom of 3 furbabies ❤